The Duke of Marlborough began its life in 1827 as “Johnny Johnston’s Grog Shop” and was one of the first land sales to a European in New Zealand. In the 1930s Johnny changed the name of his hotel to the Duke of Marlborough, as at the time the Duke of Marlborough was the world’s richest man, so the name sought to bring respect, elegance and opulence to the “Hell Hole of the Pacific”.
The hotel has a range of accommodation options from waterfront rooms with views over the Bay to Paihia and the historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds, to Superior and Classic rooms with either a shared deck or a view over the lovely Russell village. There is also complimentary access to a nearby gym. And you’ll certainly be impressed with the hotel’s restaurant menu showcasing the best of locally sourced seasonal produce.
What our travellers love about staying here…
- Tasting the local Waikare Inlet Oysters and great fish and chips from the restaurant menu
- Chilling out on the deck with a glass of wine, watching the world go by
- Easy access to the ferry terminal and Russell village